What shooting facilities are available at the Wake County Range?

When is the Range open to the public?

How much does it cost to shoot at the Range?

Do I need to register for the Range Safety Orientation Class or do I just show up for a scheduled class?

If I have my CCW Permit, do I need to take the Range Safety Orientation Class?

Can I use a credit card at the Range?

May I bring a guest to the Range?

Does the Wake County Range rent firearms?

What is the correct way to transport my firearms to the range?

Can I rent any shooting equipment at the Range?


Can I shoot my blackpowder rifle or blackpowder handgun at the Range?

Can I use my own ammunition or can I buy ammunition at the Range?

Are targets available at the Range or do I have to bring my own targets?

Can we share a shooting lane or does each shooter have to pay for shooting time?

Can I bring my child or children to the Range and can they shoot?

Are there training courses available at the Range? Is individual instruction available?

Are there any positions for 100-yard rifle shooters to shoot prone?

Are there any shooting competitions available at the Range?

Is the Range available for groups or other special events or special training programs?

Are there any programs for women?

I would like to pre-purchase some Range time for my spouse's birthday. Does the Range offer any gift certificates or prepaid cards?

Where can I find an official publication on North Carolina’s firearms laws?

I am a resident of North Carolina. How do I obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit?



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. What shooting facilities are available at the Wake County Range?

The Wake County Range is an indoor shooting facility for handguns and rifles. It has a 100-meter rifle Range with 9 shooting positions, a 50-yard Range with shooting benches for both rifles and handguns, and a 50-yard pistol Range. Any caliber handgun may be shot, and any rifle under .50 caliber may be used at the Range. [Return to Questions]

2. When is the Range open to the public?

The Wake County Range is open on Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday evenings from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. The Range is also open on Saturdays from noon–6 p.m. and Sundays from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. 

[Return to Questions]


3. How much does it cost to shoot at the Range?

Wake County residents pay $10 per hour, and out-of-county residents pay $15 per hour. The Range also offers a discounted rate for monthly, quarterly, annual, and family memberships. In addition, there is a special annual discounted rate for active duty military and law enforcement officers. Please ask about the rates at the Range. [Return to Questions]


4. Do I need to register for the Range Safety Orientation Class, or do I just show up for a scheduled class with one of my guns? When can I begin using the indoor rifle Range?

A Range Safety and Orientation class is required for everyone 18 years or older to begin using the Range.  Please see the orientation schedule for class dates.  To participate, please bring a picture ID (driver's license preferred) and money (debit, credit, check or cash). Cost is $15 for County residents and $25 for non-County residents.

You will not need a firearm for the orientation class. Upon completion of the class, you will receive a Range membership card (including your picture) and a coupon good for $2 off five different visits.

Once you have your card and have paid the hourly fees, you can shoot on the range during regular public shooting hours (see Question #2 above). Your Range membership card is permanent – there is no annual renewal fee. Our class schedule is posted on this website.     
[Return to Questions]

5. If I have my CCW Permit, do I need to take the Range Safety Orientation Class?

Yes. The Range has rules and procedures that are unique to this Range. These rules and procedures are not taught in the Concealed Carry Course, even if the course is taken at this Range. [Return to Questions]

6. May I use a credit card at the Range?
The Range will accept cash, checks, credit cards (Master Card and Visa), or debit cards.       
[Return to Questions]

7. May I bring a guest to the Range?
Members are allowed to bring guests to the Range if they do not live in the Triangle area, (Wake County or any of the surrounding counties) where the guest is not close enough to the Range to attend a Range safety orientation course. The guest will need to show identification and complete a guest waiver form. The guest will shoot on the member’s lane and the member is responsible for supervising any guest. Members may bring minors (anyone under the age of 18) as a guest regardless of where they live as long as a Minor Waiver form has been signed by a parent or guardian.       
[Return to Questions]


8. Does the Wake County Range rent firearms?
The Range does not rent any firearms for members to use on the range.
[Return to Questions]


9. What is the correct way to transport my firearms to the range?
All firearms must be in some type of case or container before they can be brought into the Range. The container can be a gun case, a holster, a box, range bag, or any similar container. The member should not be directly holding the firearm itself when they enter the Range. For transporting firearms, unless you have a concealed carry permit, the firearms should be unloaded and in the trunk of the vehicle, or in a locked container in the rear of the vehicle.
[Return to Questions]

10. Can I rent any shooting equipment at the Range?
The Range has some equipment available at a modest rental charge for members’ use. Spotting scopes are available at $2.50 per hour. Rifle benchrests cost  $1.00 per hour and a pistol benchrest is $0.50 per hour. Ear protection [ear muffs] are $1.50 per hour. Safety glasses ($4.00) and foam ear plugs ($0.25) are available for sale. The Range also has a chronograph ($5.00 per hour) available for rent for members who reload their own ammunition and would like to measure the velocity.
[Return to Questions]

11. Can I shoot my blackpowder rifle, or blackpowder handgun at the Range?
Members may shoot blackpowder [muzzle loaded] firearms at the Range provided they are using one of the blackpowder substitutes. Powder charges should be pre-measured before coming to the Range to avoid handling loose powder on the firing line. Self-contained cartridges with real blackpowder may also be shot at the Range.
[Return to Questions]

12. Can I use my own ammunition, or can I buy ammunition at the Range?
Members may use their own ammunition with the exception that armor piercing, tracer, and incendiary ammunition is prohibited. The Range also has available for sale the most common types of ammunition at market prices.
[Return to Questions]

13. Are targets available at the Range, or do I have to bring my own targets?

The Range has an assortment of paper targets available for members to purchase at 25 cents each. Members may also bring their own paper targets. Only paper targets are permitted – no metal, glass or plastic targets are allowed.
[Return to Questions]


14. Can we share a shooting lane, or does each shooter have to pay for shooting time?
Sharing one shooting lane is allowed; however, all shooters on the lane, unless they are minors or out-of-town guests, must have a Range membership card.
[Return to Questions]

15. Can I bring my child or children to the Range, and can they shoot?
Generally, a child needs to be 7 or older to shoot on the Range. The child must be tall enough to safely handle the firearm and reach over the bench. Children under the age of 18 do not have to complete the Range orientation class to shoot. We recommend that if they are 12 years old or older, they take the course and receive their “junior” membership card. They will learn the safety rules and, when they reach their 18th birthday, their membership card will be upgraded to an adult card without retaking the orientation course. A liability waiver form for each child must be completed.
[Return to Questions]

16. Are there training courses available at the Range? Is individual instruction available? The Range offers a number of firearms training courses taught by National Rifle Association certified instructors. Courses are available in basic pistol and rifle, personal protection, home firearms safety and the North Carolina concealed carry certification course. Please refer to our training schedule on this website. Preregistration is highly recommended. Individual one-on-one training is not offered by the Range; however, staff can provide contact information for certified instructors.
[Return to Questions]


17. Are there any positions for 100-yard rifle shooters to shoot prone?
There is one position on the 100 meter Range that can be easily used to shoot prone or any shooting position. Customers can also shoot prone from under the concrete benches, but the far right position with no shooting bench works great for anyone who wants to shoot prone, kneeling, sitting or standing.
[Return to Questions]


18. Are there any shooting competitions available at the Range?
Several different shooting leagues meet at the Range and are open to any Range member. The Action Pistol League meets monthly and generally has four to five different shooting scenarios at each meeting. The Bullseye Pistol League meets twice a month and a Junior Rifle League meets on a regular basis. Other competitions may be held if there is enough interest from the members.
[Return to Questions]

19. Is the Range available for groups or other special events or special training programs?
Special events and special training programs can be arranged for groups. Office team-building events or shooting qualification events are examples. There is a cost for Range rental and for the Range safety officer(s). Please ask at the Range or email.[Return to Questions]

20. Are there any programs for women?
A Ladies Handgun League meets once a month for women members of the Range. At each meeting, the ladies decide what they would like to do – target practice, practical pistol shooting, qualification exercises, competition, training, etc. The League meets on a Saturday morning for two-to-three hours. Information is available at the Range and on the League's website. The Range also offers some Ladies-Only classes during the year.  Please see the Training Schedule for more information.
[Return to Questions]

21. I would like to pre-purchase some Range time for my spouse's birthday. Does the Range offer any gift certificates or prepaid cards?
The Range does have gift certificates available. You can purchase a gift certificate for any amount. We will print up the certificate for you at the Range. Just drop by during any regular business hours, and the Range manager will be glad to take care of you. Your spouse can redeem the certificate for Range hours, shooting materials, targets, or other items we have at the Range at any time.
[Return to Questions]


22. Where can I find an official publication on North Carolina’s firearms laws?
The North Carolina Department of Justice is responsible for administering all firearms laws. Please visit the NC DOJ website for more information.
[Return to Questions]

23. I am a resident of North Carolina. How do I obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit?
Like other gun-related permits, the Concealed Handgun Permit is available through your County Sheriff's office. To apply for a permit, you must complete a certification course, which is taught at the Range and by other instructors throughout the state. Please refer to our course schedule on this website. Contact the Sheriff's office in your county to receive additional information or to begin the application process. If you live in Wake County, please see the Sheriff's Website. You can also find detailed information on the NC Department of Justice website.
[Return to Questions]