Pages: hpc
Version HistoryVersion History




Historic Preservation Commission

Scheduling Start Date


Scheduling End Date


Article Date



Russ O'Melia


Russ W. O'Melia

Contact E-Mail Address



Planning, Development and Inspections

Classification Type

Reference Information



Page Content


Created in 1992 by the Wake County Board of Commissioners, the Wake County Historic Preservation Carolina Commission is a 12-member board charged with preserving and protecting the county's special heritage. The towns of Apex, Cary, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Knightdale, Morrisville, Rolesville and Wendell participate in the Commission through an interlocal agreement. The Wake County Board of Commissioners appoints the Commission. Membership is open to all Wake County residents.
The purpose of the Wake County Historic Preservation Commission is to preserve districts and landmarks in Wake County that embody important elements of the county's culture, history, architectural history or prehistory, and to promote the use and conservation of such districts and landmarks for the education, pleasure and enrichment of the residents of the state.



Current Members of the Historic Preservation Commission:

  • Ed Morris, Chair
  • Bob Myers, Vice Chair
  • Stephanie Ashworth
  • Peggy Beach
  • Brent Laurenz
  • Camille Morrissey
  • Carrie Ehrfurth
  • Marshall Harvey
  • Daniel Turner
  • Patrick Lawson
  • Jeff Hastings
  • Ray Hinnant


Enabling Legislations:


Meeting Dates:

  • The Wake County Historic Preservation Commission meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 3:30 p.m., in Room 2700 of the Wake County Justice Center.
  • The Outreach Committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 2:30 p.m., in Room 2800 of the Wake County Justice Center.
  • The Designation Committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 3 p.m., in Room 2701 of the Wake County Justice Center.


Staff Contacts

Capital Area Preservation
Gary G. Roth, President & CEO (
Mailing Address:
PO Box 28072
Raleigh, NC 27611
Physical Address:
1101 Haynes St. Suite 105B
Raleigh, NC 27604
919-834-7314 (fax)


Planning, Development & Inspections Division Contact:
Bryan Coates, Planner III (

Mailing Address:
PO Box 550
336 Fayetteville St.
Raleigh, NC 27602
919-856-6184 (fax)



Rollup Image



Russ O'Melia
Approval Status Approved
Content Type: Article Page
Version: 8.0
Created at 7/18/2012 11:53 AM by Russ W. O'Melia
Last modified at 6/5/2015 4:17 PM by Stephen R. Walston





         Wake County Departments & Agencies: