We work in cooperation with other public and private entities to protect children, strengthen families, and help all Wake County residents to achieve maximum self-sufficiency.
North Carolina has a Federally Mandated, State Supervised, and County Administered Social Services System. This means the Federal Government authorizes and funds the majority of national programs, and the State Government provides oversight and support.  It is the local county departments of social services that actually deliver the services and benefits to the residents of North Carolina.
In North Carolina, the single administrative agency is the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).  In Wake County, the Department of Human Services is the umbrella agency that encompasses the Department of Social Services.
Please take the time to review our list of programs 
by following the links to the left.
Thank you!  

*** NEW *** 

NC FAST Medicaid Update in Wake County

Wake County Human Services is experiencing long delays in our ability to process your Medicaid applications.
We are working diligently to get applications processed as quickly as possible.
 If you have submitted an application to us, please know that we are working to process that application.

Please DO NOT send any additional applications as that will further delay the processing of your initial application. We continue to encourage all of our potential clients to apply ONLINE for Medicaid and Food and Nutrition Services programs using ePass at epass.nc.gov.
Thank you!


Wake County Resource Guide 2014


Applications to Download and Complete​ ​


Consolidated Medicaid Application

for Adults, Children and Families


Medicaid Application for Adults Children and Families


Food and Nutrition Services Applications


Medicaid Provider Lists

There are several ways to find a Medicaid doctor, dentist or other medical provider. Before you make an appointment, be sure to ask if the provider still takes Medicaid patients. The NC Department of Health and Human Services maintains several Medicaid Provider Lists including primary care providers, dentists, mental health providers and Medicaid specialists.