Child Protective Services (CPS) Intake:
- Receives reports from the community of suspected child abuse, neglect and dependence;
- Screens reports to determine if CPS has legal authority to conduct an assessment; and;
- Assigns a response time in which CPS must begin the assessment for an accepted report.
In North Carolina, CPS Intake asks reporters a structured series of questions to gather information to determine if CPS has authority to conduct an assessment. The courts have ruled that CPS cannot begin an assessment unless a report alleges child abuse, neglect or dependency as defined in Chapter 7B of the North Carolina General Statutes.
In Wake County, the CPS report line is 919-212-7990 (English) and 919-212-7963 (Spanish).
Who should report?
Anyone who suspects a child is being abused or neglected or is dependent is required to report this to the county department of social services. North Carolina's reporting law applies to every person and every institution in the state.
When can a Report be made?
Reports of child abuse, neglect, or dependency can be made 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
How do I make a report?
By Phone: Call the CPS Report line
In Person: During normal business hours (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., you can make a report on the fourth floor of the Human Services Building at 220 Swinburne St., Raleigh, NC.
After hours and on weekends and holidays: Call 911 and say you wish to make a CPS report. The 911 operator will contact an after-hours social worker who will return your call.
Will my identity as the reporter be kept confidential?
Yes. By law, the identity of the person making a report of child abuse or neglect is kept private. The person who makes the report is immune from criminal or legal liability if the report was made in good faith.
If the situation you are concerned about is a medical emergency, call 911.
What happens after a report is made?
The CPS social worker who took the report will consult with a supervisor to determine if the report should be accepted for assessment under North Carolina law. Click to learn more about CPS Assessment
An accepted report is assigned to a social worker who will begin the assessment within 72 hours. Assessments of reports of abuse and reports involving children in danger of immediate harm are begun more quickly.
A written notice of whether the report was accepted is mailed to the reporter within five days. A reporter who disagrees with a decision to screen out a report can request a review of the decision and/or can make another report if additional information becomes available.
After an assessment is completed, reporters receive a written notice of the finding and whether ongoing services are being provided.
For more information, click on a link from the menu on the left.