Navigate Up

Wake County
Board of Commissioners

Wake County is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, elected at large to serve four-year terms. Terms are staggered so that, every two years, three or four commissioner seats are up for election. The Board enacts policies such as establishment of the property tax rate, regulation of land use and zoning outside municipal jurisdictions, and adoption of the annual budget. 
View schedule of meetings. Board goals & committees. Agendas & Minutes Watch meetings online or on TV.
Vice Chair Chair

District 1
Commissioner Paul Coble
District 2
Commissioner Phil Matthews
District 3 Commissioner Joe Bryan District 4 Commissioner Tony Gurley District 5
District 6 Commissioner James West District 7 Commissioner Betty Lou Ward
Joe Bryan Phil Matthews Rich Gianni Caroline Sullivan James West Betty Lou Ward

button_SOC.png accomplishments_report.png

Local Elected Officials

State Elected Officials

Federal Elected Officials

P.O. Box 550 | Raleigh, NC 27602
Susan Banks, Clerk to the Board |